testimonials barker and canady

Testimonials

Frank and Pat Toner Testimonial

Frank and Pat Toner

St James Plantation - 9/5/2017

"Our first contact with Barker and Canady was Bridget who was knowledgeable, professional and great to deal with throughout the process. Nick, our Project Manager was excellent! He was also extremely knowledgeable, patient, a great communicator and an extremely hard worker. Overall, this was an excellent experience and I would highly recommend Barker & Canady!"

Joe and Jeanne Castagnola Testimonial

Joe and Jeanne Castagnola

St. James Plantation - 7/17/17

"We have built many houses in our married life but this experience has been the most satisfying, professional and fun of all. From start to finish the Barker & Canady team were friendly, knowledgeable and understanding while meeting our needs to build or home."

Jim and Nancy McCriskin Testimonial

Jim and Nancy McCriskin

St. James Plantation - 4/11/17

"Our experience with Barker and Canady building our dream retirement home was excellent and the house is beautiful! Every person associated with Barker and Canady was knowledgeable, thoughtful, dependable and shared our expectation for the highest quality finished product. Project Manager, Rob Canady was outstanding and maintained constant communication so that we were aware of and involved with every aspect of the building process. We appreciate the dedication and expertise of Barker and Canady's team, including Tom, Rob, Jennifer, Ashley and Bridget who guided us through this exciting journey. Thank you!"

David and Janis Mullaney

St. James Plantation - 12/22/2016

"You people are the very best, you have helped us out numerous times since you built our home 12 years ago, and it has been much appreciated. I feel that I can count on you to put me in contact with the right people when I need something done. I recommend you whenever I can, you just can't go wrong when you are dealing with Barker and Canady, and that's just what I tell others."

Sincerely,

David and Janis Mullaney

Tony and Sheri Rizzo Testimonial

Tony and Sheri Rizzo

St James Plantation- 11/15/16

"Barker and Canady likes to build things...let's start with TRUST. My wife and I never built a house from ground up, never mind from a long distance (MA). We figured with 35 years in business Barker and Canady would: have experienced both good and the bad times, which results in financial stability and loyal subs; have the experience on how to handle the challenges of building a new house; have a succession plan should the unforeseen happen with any principals.

Well we could not be happier and the building process could not have been easier. Nick Woehr, Project Manager made the process easy and painless and provided input when requested. Bridget, Office Manager kept us abreast of all overages so we knew where we stood financially at all times. We love our new home, we appreciated the process and want to say a huge THANK YOU to the Barker and Canady team for providing us such a beautiful home!"

Jim and Jo-Ann Alford Testimonial

Jim and Jo-Ann Alford

St. James Plantation - 10/24/16

"Building with Barker and Canady was an absolute pleasure! We got everything we asked for in our new home and stayed within budget. The interior selection meetings, the quality of workmanship and the on-time schedule were remarkable. Nick Woehr is an exceptional Project Manager who is cost conscious and kept us informed of every detail, all the while we lived in Florida during construction. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Thank you!"

Sarah Gray Lamm and Patti Caldwell Testimonial

Sarah Gray Lamm and Patti Caldwell

Forest Hills, Wilmington - 8/14/16

"Barker and Canady Custom Homes is a quality and reputable company. They do what they promise with a friendly, informative attitude. Their attention to detail and money saving suggestions were most appreciated during my building experience. From start to finish, my house was well cared for an rarely was there an idle day on the job. The schedule was tight and on time. The follow up after the house closed has been good and their responsiveness to my requests are timely. I would absolute recommend Barker and Canady if you are considering a quality built home in the Wilmington Area."

Ed and Marion Schloemer Testimonial

Ed and Marion Schloemer

Landfall

"In working with Barker and Canady to build our "forever" home in 2014, we found individuals who took a personal interest in making sure we were comfortable and happy with the myriad of choices that needed to be made during the process. Although we were a little concerned about undertaking this project "long distance" from NJ, Rob and the entire Barker Canady team were a pleasure to work with and took extra time and effort to help us feel confident in our decision to work with them. Our new custom home is truly a reflection of what we had dreamed for our family's enjoyment and comfort, and the quality of construction is spot on!"

Yvonne Scheffer Testimonial

Yvonne Scheffer

St. James Plantation - 7/26/2016

"While I had reservations to watch the building process from afar, the Barker and Canady team has a wonderful process in place that was truly amazing. Everyone had their specific level of expertise from the sales part with Tom and Jennifer, Nick who was assigned as the project manager, Ashley was there to assist with deciding all the right selections, and Bridget and Phil to keep us straight back in the office. Nick kept me informed, sent many pictures of the progress, always answered emails and phone calls promptly, knew or would find out the answers to all my questions....in my book he is all about doing a quality, first class job!

At the first sales meeting I showed Tom and Jennifer a picture of a Tuscan door with the comment that I would like the open inviting Tuscan elevation and asked if they could build something of this nature. I also found a beautiful bathroom with a sunken tub. Their answer to those two criteria was a resounding "Yes". In the end, the house did not just meet the two big criteria but it exceeded all my expectations. Everyday when I walk through the house, I marvel at the attention to detail but also the craftsmanship that reflects the Barker and Canady Homes of Distinction!"

Marcus and Patti Vandevliet Testimonial

Marcus and Patti Vandevliet

St. James Plantation - 7/26/2016

"We can't say enough about how much we love our new home. Tom, Jennifer and especially Todd were an absolute joy to work with. Everyone in the company is professional, friendly, and take such pride in what they do. All of the subs were so impressive! Everyone one of them take such pride in their craft. They all worked on our home with such care and professionalism as if it were their own. We would do it all over again except this house is already perfect!"

Doug and Tootie Witzell Testimonial

Doug and Tootie Witzell

Compass Pointe - 7/22/2016

"Wonderful experience with sincere and caring people. Built a beautiful home for us. We recommend Barker and Canady to everyone!"

Cliff and Mary Howard Testimonial

Cliff and Mary Howard

St. James Plantation - 3/1/2016

"We could not have made a better choice in selecting Barker & Canady. From beginning to end, the entire team did an excellent job in working with us to build our dream home. Tom, Nick, Phil and Bridget provided outstanding support & guidance. Throughout the entire process and their professionalism and focus on customer satisfaction was greatly appreciated. Special kudos to Nick for his patience and keeping us on task. We are proud to be part of the Barker & Canady Family of quality homes."

Steve and Maribeth Brocker Testimonial

Steve and Maribeth Brocker

St James Plantation - 2/16/2016

"Working with Barker and Canady was a positive experience from start to finish. Tom, Jennifer and Nick listened to us and asked a lot of questions. The result is the beautiful home we always hoped it would be. We couldn't be more pleased!"

David and Ardis Stott Testimonial

David and Ardis Stott

River Landing - 2/8/16

"Although Barker & Canady turned over the keys to our new home on January, 29, 2016, our relationship with them began 6 years earlier, Planning for our retirement eventually led us to River Landing where we attended several Builder Showcase events. We visited all the builders open houses, but found ourselves returning to the Barker and Canady offerings. Tom and Jennifer understood that we were "just looking" at the time, and never pressured us to commit to their services. Instead, in addition to detailing how they differed from other builders, they also put us in touch with occupants of newly completed, as well as more established Barker & Canady homes. These owners had beautiful homes and they uniformly had very high levels of satisfaction with their Barker and Canady experience. This was very important for us, especially given that the experience of building our previous home in northern Virginia was slightly "tainted" due to a less than responsive builder. Our experience with Barker and Canady has been the polar opposite. Our Project Manager, Todd was detail oriented and exceptionally communicative. His professionalism and customer care seems to be representative of all the Barker and Canady staff with whom we worked. They all worked well with us to deliver a superior product, on time. on budget and one with which we are truly satisfied."

Tim and Alice Hogan Testimonial

Tim and Alice Hogan

St James Plantation - 11/23/2015

"Overall, a much better than expected experience. B&C really worked well as a team to meet our needs. Not being here during the build was concerning, but Rob communicated well and the house came in ahead of schedule! A real pleasant surprise. The house is a dream come true!"

Dennis and Jayne Kaine Testimonial

Dennis and Jayne Kaine

St. James Plantation - 11/3/2015

"It is hard to write a review/quote that would cover everyone and everything. We were happy and comfortable from beginning to end. The first and best decision we made was asking Barker and Canady to build our house. We have been coming to St James for almost 20 years and have watched a lot of houses being built. We went to look at some houses while down on vacation ~there was no time frame in mind. We just though we would get some ideas. We fell in love with a Barker and Canady house. We met Jennifer ~she was so kind and knowledgeable. We left that day knowing we found our builders.

We were a little concerned about building a house in NC while living in NJ. Jennifer said it was something they were familiar with and was able to explain the process in such a clear and easy detail that we felt ready to go. Everything Jennifer explained and described came true.

We had our first construction meeting at the office with Tom Canady. Todd Lewis, Jennifer Kelly, and met Bridget DelMese too. What a great felling that everyone stays involved in the process from start to finish. Everything was broken down into simple steps. I can't repeat enough how we always felt like everyone was taking care of us and making the process fun and manageable. We were given the services of Ashley Levesque ~ What a great help. She knows her stuff and has the ability to see things from the smallest description and make everything work. She would point me in a direction after we spoke and just made our choices so easy and again...fun.

Todd Lewis is just outstanding. He built 2 different houses, side by side at the same time and they both came out beautiful! He had great ideas at every phase that made the house perfect. What a pleasure to work with. Do they have an Emmy or Oscar for Project Managers? He should get it- He always kept us in the loop and just made out experience so enjoyable.

The final product is beyond our dreams. The house is beautiful! We cant thank you enough for building us our magnificent home. We would be more than happy to talk to anyone that wants to know anything about building a house with Barker and Canady. No matter how much I write, it will never be enough to say how happy we are and how wonderful the people of Barker and Canady are."

Vinny and Linda D'Annunzio Testimonial

Vinny and Linda D'Annunzio

St. James Plantation - 10/22/2015

"The experience we had with dealing with Barker and Canady was truly one of the best decisions I ever made in my life. When we first met Tom and Jennifer, Linda and I felt comfortable with choosing B&C to build our dream house. This plan started 17 years ago for us when we purchased the property in St James dreaming of building a retirement home. Barker and Canady made it all come true with the help of their unbelievable staff - Ashley helping us pick out everything for the house to Todd, Project Manager of the year who built two homes at the same time. One would never want to look further than Barker and Canady to build their home. Once again we want to thank Tom and the whole staff for a wonderful experience!"

Ricky and Kathy Rix Testimonial

Ricky and Kathy Rix

Brunswick Plantation - 10/19/2015

"We have been in our home over a year and love it! Barker and Canady are amazing. Their attention to detail...amazing! Thank you Tom, Jennifer and Nick!"

James and Rena (Toni) Gaston Testimonial

James and Rena (Toni) Gaston

Brunswick Plantation - 10/06/2015

"I would like to say to each and everyone of you it has been such a blessing to have done business with Y-O-U! I have been overwhelmed from the support and caring you have shown Toni and I. I really mean this from the bottom of my heart you guys have taken that extra step in the building of our custom dream home. If you ever need us as client reference do not hesitate to contact us. We will always consider you guys as extended family.....thanks again."

Bob and Betty Ryan Testimonial

Bob and Betty Ryan

St. James Plantation - 5/09/2015

"Glowing in Happiness! The finished product took our breath away! Excellent craftsmanship and always on schedule. Our Project Manager, Nick is Top Notch! It was a pleasure doing business with the entire Barker and Canady team!"

Marc and Wendy Scharen Testimonial

Marc and Wendy Scharen

Winding River - 4/22/15

"We chose Barker and Canady because of the Magnificent quality of work we saw in their homes. They didn't disappoint - we moved in 9 months from start to finish, into a beautiful, custom home with absolute terrific attention to all details! We love it!"

Ray and Lisa Blyler Testimonial

Ray and Lisa Blyler

St. James Plantation - 3/16/2015

"Todd was very easy to deal with. All our questions were answered promptly. This made building the house less stressful."

Bob and Debra Morrow Testimonial

Bob and Debra Morrow

River Landing - 2/23/2015

"As a long distance builder, Barker & Canady put our minds at ease right from the start. Tom and Jennifer assured us there would be no problem being over 600 miles away - and to their word and with the leadership of Todd it was smooth and comfortable process. Their work is outstanding from pushing the dirt to final completion. Our home is better than what we could have dreamed for."

Gordon and Susie Heitmuller Testimonial

Gordon and Susie Heitmuller

Brunswick Plantation - 2/23/2015

"Our experience with Barker and Canady was superb. From the very first meeting to the final walk thru and beyond we received the best service. This group made the whole process of building our dream home a delightful experience. Would recommend Barker and Canady to everyone. We continue to receive compliments on the workmanship."

Richard and Paula Belch Testimonial

Richard and Paula Belch

St James Plantation - 2/20/2015

"We are very pleased with our new home. Building a home from a long distance is a daunting task. Rob Canady, our Project Manager made that task seamless. We were updated on progress and questions answered as they arose in a timely manner with pictures, texts, emails and phone calls. The quality of the construction was evident from start to finish. The workers were polite and respectful. We are glad we chose Barker and Canady to build our dream home and would certainly recommend them to others."

Sam Falvo and Kathy Larsen Testimonial

Sam Falvo and Kathy Larsen

St. James Plantation - 12/8/2014

"We are more than happy with our choice of Barker and Canady to build our home. We spoke with 6 builders before going with B&C. They were easy to deal with and never felt any pressure during construction. We would highly recommend Barker and Canady to anyone considering building a new home."

Carlos and Kathy Mejia Testimonial

Carlos and Kathy Mejia

St. James Plantation - 11/11/2014

"We felt from the very beginning that we chose the right builder. When we told people we were building long distance, they told us we were crazy and it would be a nightmare. Not so - Barker & Canady made it easy. Todd Lewis, our Project Manager, made it so and was a dream to work with. Everytime we meet new owners we tell them Barker & Canady is the way to go."

Ralph and Carolyn O'Brien Testimonial

Ralph and Carolyn O'Brien

St. James Plantation

11/17/2014

"We would highly recommend Barker & Canady to anyone. Nick was a dream to work with. He made multiple suggestions that improved our home. We were surprised how comfortable we were building from out of town. This was due to Nick's experience, common sense and integrity."

Rich and Candy Race Testimonial

Rich and Candy Race

St James Plantation - 10/28/14

"Barker and Canady was an outstanding partner through the entire building process. Nick, Bridget and the team were great and we love the final product!"

Greg and Wendy Idol Testimonial

Greg and Wendy Idol

Wilmington - 5/2014

"We have been working with Barker & Canady on our beautiful custom home and I can't begin to express how helpful they've all been throughout the entire process from picking out our architect and engineers to the most wonderful in house interior designer and all the details in between. They've made sure that we're using the best materials for our style home and for our location and have been great about working with our custom features that we've added along the way. We have about two more months before we move into our new home and are so very excited with the work that's been done so far. We've loved watching our dream house become a beautiful reality through the wonderful work of everyone at Barker and Canady!"

Jeff and Meridith Muehleib Testimonial

Jeff and Meridith Muehleib

St. James Plantation - 9/12/2014

"We had never built a custom home and had a very positive experience with Barker and Canady. They build a quality home using expert and experienced contractors, high grade materials, and have excellent managers and staff. Our Project Manager Nick, along with all staff, kept us informed throughout the process and were extremely responsive to questions and concerns. They have remained responsive after construction was completed. They also provided honest answers based on their experience which we found very helpful during planning and construction. We would highly recommend Barker & Canady to any potential homeowners and welcome customers to visit our home."

Curt and RuthAnn Mumaw Testimonial

Curt and RuthAnn Mumaw

St James Plantation - 7/29/14

"Barker and Canady fulfilled our dreams of a perfect retirement home. They were very easy to work with and so accommodating! A joy to work with. Our project manager was the best! We would use them again."

Fran McGaughey Testimonial

Fran McGaughey

St. James Plantation - 4/4/14

"Barker and Canady are an exceptional organization to work with. During my construction, my husband was diagnosed with ALS. We asked B&C to get us in sooner than projected in order to get my husband in the house before he died. They cut the schedule by 39 days- a Hurculean Effort!"

Larry and Rosemarie Rosenblatt Testimonial

Larry and Rosemarie Rosenblatt

Winding River - 2/26/14

"Barker and Canady built our beautiful home in Winding River. If you would like a stress free building experience with a phenomenal team and dependable subcontractors, then this builder is for you!"

Keith and Charlene Munro Testimonial

Keith and Charlene Munro

St. James Plantation - 2/11/2014

"For many years we dreamed of our perfect retirement home in St. James. Barker and Canady helped us fulfill that dream."

Fred and Sue Yates Testimonial

Fred and Sue Yates

St. James Plantation - 2/3/2014

"Barker and Canady is, in our opinion, the ONLY builder to go with! This was our first experience in building a home and the entire B&C team made this such a fun adventure! From the moment we met Jennifer and Tom, we felt assured that our home would be built by a team of professionals. The vendors we met with always gave us several choices regarding our budget. Ashley's expertise in design and her eye for color helped us create the coastal look we wanted. And Nick? Well we could not have asked for a better project manager. Professional, honest, knowledgeable, able to leap tall buildings in a single bound! But seriously, Nick always took the time to answer the most trivial questions and alert us to anything we might want to adjust. THANK YOU, Barker and Canady. We love our new home!"

David White and Karen Howard Testimonial

David White and Karen Howard

River Landing 12/13/2013

"Barker & Canady were super to work with. Their level of experience, wisdom, and attention to details takes this builders product from good to great! It was a joy to work with a team where excellent customer service and quality product is the cornerstone of their project execution. I trust this company to perform above any other custom builder in their market. Excellent work to B&C and their subs ~ Job Well Done!"

Vic Ceglie and Lynn Gillis Testimonial

Vic Ceglie and Lynn Gillis

St. James Plantation - 5/8/13

"If you're interested in reliability, competence, and quality, you will want a Barker and Canady home too!  Thank you for creating our dream!  Every look or feature we wanted Tom and Nick delivered.  The house is amazing!"

Joe and Jeanne Davis Testimonial

Joe and Jeanne Davis

Compass Pointe - December 2012

"Barker & Canady built our home in Compass Pointe this year and we moved in last month. Everything went much more smoothly than we expected. Nick, our construction manager, guided us all the way and gave us great suggestions on design features and cost saving ideas. Tom Canady gave it his personal attention. The office personnel are superb, and the vendors were all top notch professionals. Nick immediately took care of the few minor things we saw during our final walk-through. We have received several complements about our home, including, "It's the most beautiful house in the neighborhood." We definitely chose the right builder."

John Shumpert Testimonial

John Shumpert

3/05/13 - River Landing

"Barker and Canady Custom Homes is a first class professional organization.  Having a house built from long distance was thought to be a daunting task.  Nothing could have been further from the truth.  It was an exciting and problem free experience.  Not only do I have a beautiful new home but I have some wonderful new friends.

Every step of the process was explained and all expectations were completely fulfilled.  Everyone that was involved (office personnel and workers alike) were knowledgeable, made recommendations and were willing to help in anyway.  The home reflects their quality workmanship and in-depth knowledge in building first class home.

I can't say enough good things about Tom and Todd.  They are meticulous to detail and very conscientious to the homeowner's needs.  They are very personable and understanding.  I knew immediately after meeting them that I was in good hands.

Without any hesitation, I would recommend Barker and Canady to any perspective homebuyer."

Lot 169 - Stan and RuthAnne Lavis Testimonial

Lot 169 - Stan and RuthAnne Lavis

River Landing- 11/21/12

"When we sat down to write evaluation, we thought of all the reviews we'd read before (and after) making our decision to use B&C as our builder.  Although we feel it's been said before, there are 5 points we think are worth reiterating:

  1. Everyone at B&C is a pleasure to work with; they make you feel like you're part of the "their" family. While we didn't build a "million-dollar" home, we were never treated differently.
  2. We felt confident using B&C even though we were 500 miles away from the building process.
  3. As promised, B&C built within the 6 month time-frame - no cost or time overruns.
  4. All contractors/Subs used did a top notch job, ensuring a smooth process.  Also, our home-site was clean throughout that time.
  5. Finally, and most importantly, was the level the level of trust we had in B&C.  They did what they said they would do and worked with even when we ran into delays selling our home in NJ.

People say building a custom home is scary and a stressful process, but not when you choose Barker and Canady to build your dream home!"

Alden and Judy Knowles Testimonial

Alden and Judy Knowles

St. James Plantation - 11/15/12

"We could not be happier with our new home!  Nick, Project Manager, is the best in every way!  We are so pleased with everything that there is really nothing we would change.  Everything is exactly what we expected or better.  We would and have recommended Barker and Canady to anyone.  Thank you very much!"

Tour the Rockport Model Home

Virtual Tour